About Us

Wheeling Hospital Honors Nurses With Excellence Awards: Tribute Coincides With National Nurses Week

May 10, 2019

Contact: Gregg Warren, Vice President-Marketing/Public Relations, 304-243-3260

WHEELING, W.Va. – Nurses from Wheeling Hospital and its affiliates Harrison Community Hospital (HCH) and the Continuous Care Center (CCC), as well as the hospital’s Physician Practice Division, were honored Thursday with Nurse Excellence Awards as part of National Nurses Week.

National Nurses Week, May 6-12, focuses attention on the diverse ways America's nurses work to save lives and to improve the health of millions of individuals. The American Nurses Association has designated this year’s theme as “4 Million Reasons to Celebrate” in honor of the vast contributions and positive impact of America’s 4 million registered nurses.

National Nurses Week coincides with the May 12 birthday of Florence Nightingale and is a celebration of her legacy as the founder of modern nursing.

Receiving recognition at the annual Nurse Excellence Awards Ceremony were RN Sharon Bourgo of Wheeling Hospital’s OR; LPN Christine Resczynski, Wheeling Hospital Physician Practice Division (PPD); LPN Deborah Walt-Snyder, CCC; and RN Laurie Koehler, HCH.

Honored with Wheeling Hospital’s Lifetime Achievement Award was RN Linda Pellen, Vascular Access. Pellen is a 40-year employee of Wheeling Hospital.

Ron Violi, CEO of Wheeling Hospital, said, “This week is set aside nationally to pay tribute to the nursing profession and we are pleased to participate. However, our nurses truly are the heart of what we do here at Wheeling Hospital and our gratitude and appreciation is sent to them every day of the year. We are extremely proud and blessed to have such a dedicated and talented team of nurses at Wheeling Hospital.”

Wheeling Hospital Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer Kathy Stahl said, “National Nurses Week is a week where we celebrate the vital role and the contribution that nurses make every day. Our nurses associated with the entire Wheeling Hospital family are dedicated and committed in promoting and improving health care for our patients and our community. I am very proud to be a part of our nursing workforce and all that they do to improve the quality of patient care at Wheeling Hospital and all of our affiliates.”

Also nominated for Nurse Excellence Awards from Wheeling Hospital were: Rhiannon Poppe, Michelle Sabinski, Jim Day, Bethany Passmore, Penny Pettit, Kelsay Garvin, Janina Balcita, Maxine Hicks, Kelsey Nicholes, Lisa Applegarth, Dianna “Shelly” Osborne, Eric Schultz, Theresa “Tess” Riley, Brenda Seidler, Megan Allen, Jo Ellen Taylor, Donna Baumberger, Barbara Wojtowicz, Whitney Rothacher and Angela Smith.

Other PPD nominations were Heidi Cox and Miriam Deinhardt. Also nominated at HCH were Nicole Nelson, Jeanette Koleski and Amy Sebring . At CCC, the other nominees were Priscilla Kallay, Shana Jones, Dana Schaal, Brittney Kulpa, Cassie Huggins and Deborah Garr.

In addition to the Nurse Excellence Awards, Wheeling Hospital treated its nurses to a variety of special events, including Desserts for You, an ice cream social, educational lecture and chair massages.
-- 30 --

Gathering after the Nurse Excellence Awards ceremony are, from left: honoree RN Christine Resczynski, Wheeling Physician Practice Division honoree; Dr. Dennis Niess, in whose office Resczynski works; honoree LPN Deborah Walt-Snyder, Continuous Care Center (CCC); Christy Tarr, CCC administrator; honoree RN Sharon Bourgo, Wheeling OR; Erica Scarpone, PCOR nurse manager; honoree RN Laurie Koehler, Harrison Community Hospital (HCH); Tony Martinelli, HCH administrator; Lifetime Achievement Award winner RN Linda Pellen, Wheeling Hospital Vascular Access; Lori Jones, 6th Floor Oncology nurse manager; and Kathy Stahl, chief nursing officer. HCH and CCC are affiliates of Wheeling Hospital.